Welcome to the Illinois State Racquetball Association

There’s Still a Lot Going On in the Current Season!

Hot off the presses: The latest Newsletter has been published! Click on the newsletter picture on the side to get the latest exciting news.

Good luck to everyone competing at the 2014 Summerfest July 25 – 27 at the Glass Court in Lombard, Il.  Follow along here:  http://www.r2sports.com/tourney/home.asp?TID=12882

Thanks to everyone who played in the 2014 National Single Championships May 21 – 25 in Fullerton, California.  View the results:  http://www.r2sports.com/tourney/viewResults.asp?TID=11901

Thanks to everyone who played in the USA Racquetball Midwest Regional Championships return to Glass Court, April 25-27. You can now view the results at http://www.r2sports.com/tourney/viewResults.asp?TID=12304.

Thanks to the efforts of John O’Donnell, Jr., the ISRA Referee Program is gaining traction. Besides the addition of our first certified referee, Todd Burris, additional players actively working on their certification include Jim Maroon, Bilal Muhammed, Joan Vande Kieft, Andy Pitock, Ellen Somberg, Doug Halverson, and Matt Reeser.

Notice of Annual Meeting and Election of ISRA Board Members

The ISRA Board will hold its Annual Meeting on Tuesday, June 10, 2014. As with all ISRA meetings, this meeting is open to the membership. The Annual Meeting is particularly important since all members attending have a vote in the election of the ISRA Board of Directors. If you plan to attend, please contact Pam Grace at pgrace@cata.info for time and location.

Board positions are staggered two-year terms.  This year, there are ten open seats.

The following individuals are being re-nominated to the Governing Board by the Nominating Committee:

Patrice Calvi, Doug Halverson, Michelle Halverson, Cheryl Kirk, John O’Donnell, Jr.,
Geoff Peters, Joe Silius, and Lynne Weisbart.

The following individuals are being nominated by the Committee to the Governing Board for a first term:

 Todd Burris and Jonelle Dubois

According to Article IV, Section IV.2 of the ISRA Bylaws (ratified by the ISRA Board of Directors in December 2013 and posted on the ISRA website):

Additional Director candidates must be nominated in writing by one or more ISRA/USAR members, endorsed by signed petition of at least 50 members, and received by the President prior to May 1. If there are any additional Director nominations, the President shall first verify that the nominee is in agreement to run and serve and shall give notice of said nomination to the public via the ISRA website and email communication on or before May 15 but in no case fewer than 30 days before the Annual Meeting date. The election shall take place at the Annual Meeting in June, by ballot, with only members present voting. If there are no additional nominations, the Nominating Committee’s slate shall be accepted automatically.

ISRA President Laurel Davis’ email address is laurelmdavis@comcast.net.

Additionally, any ISRA member who wishes to help improve the quality of racquetball in Illinois and familiarize themselves with Board processes is welcome to join the Auxiliary Board. Come out and support Illinois Racquetball!


The ISRA Nominating Committee
Marla Cusano(Chair), Pam Grace, and Rick Seaberg