Let’s Talk Turkey

December 1, 2019

The Fall Schedule is in the books with the completion of the 28th Annual Glass Court Turkey Shoot Tier 1 LPRT and Tier 4 IRT Event Presented by Platt Hill Nursery. We ended up with 176 Players and were able to run a successful fundraiser for Dave Bachar and his family (BacharStrong) with proceeds of $7,100 from the Pro-Am Doubles and Silent Auction going to their expenses! Thank you to everyone who participated and contributed. We made the presentation on the LPRT Facebook Livestream between the Singles and Doubles Championships on Sunday. Congratulations to Paola Longoria who captured her second straight Singles title at Glass, and to Paola and Doubles Partner Samantha Salas Solis who came back to take the Doubles Championship in a fantastic three game tie-breaker on Sunday afternoon. Some folks are calling it one of the best LPRT Doubles matches ever – and we encourage you to watch the replay posted on Facebook, the LPRT Website, and YouTube!

As always, special thanks go to Dan Jaskier, Joe DeArmas, Doug Halverson, Cheryl Kirk, and the entire Glass Court Staff for running a great event all weekend. And, they couldn’t do it without sponsors, especially: Platt Hill and Platt Hill Nursery, Keith Minor and KWM Gutterman, Rick Seaberg, Jim Schlicher and PapaNicholas Coffee, Kendra Tutsch and the WSMRA, John O’Donnell Jr. (who turned 90 years young over the tournament weekend), Dr. Alok Mehta, Tony and Anthony Cosmano, Geoff Goldblatt of Chicago Spectro, Danny Ortega and Taco Burrito King, Cheryl Kirk & Kit Lawson, John Thorson, Janet Eminger, Lynn & Kevin Yeazell of Response Graphics, Frank Wrobel, Bob Randazzo, Sue & Leo Klimaitis and the Susan Klimaitis Foundation, and Jack Newman of Newman Schimel! They are the folks that make it possible for everyone to see top level Professional Racquetball in Chicago at no cost to our amateur competitors!!

As we move through the holiday month of December, let’s keep working on our games as there is a full slate of events scheduled for the winter and spring. As always – we encourage everyone to get your entries in early and save a little money! Here are some of the local events (with a complete listing in ISRA Courtside, the ISRA’s exclusive publication!)

January 17-19, 2020
31st Annual Women’s Senior Masters
Vetta Racquet Sports – Concord
St. Louis, MO
Cindy Tilbury |cindy.tilbury@att.net
January 24-26, 2020
ISRA State Doubles Championships
Glass Court Swim & Fitness
Lombard, IL
Laurel Davis
February 5-9, 2020
USAR National Doubles Championships
ASU Student Rec Center
Tempe, AZ
Renée Isherwood (719) 635-5396
February 20-23, 2020
ISRA State Singles Championships
Glass Court Swim & Fitness
Lombard, IL
Cheryl Kirk | cherylkkirk@aol.com
March 12-15, 2020
35th Annual Shamrock Shootout/IRT
Tier 1 Pro Stop
Presented by KWM Gutterman
Glass Court Swim & Fitness
Lombard, IL
Doug Halverson (630) 629-3390
April 17-19, 2020
USA Racquetball Regional Championships
Glass Court Swim & Fitness
Lombard, IL
Geoff Peters (773) 251 – 4413
June 3 – 7, 2020
USAR National Singles Championships
Texas State University, San Marcos, TX
Renée Isherwood (719) 635-5396
June 24-28, 2020
USAR Junior National Championships
Meridian Sports Club
Fullerton, CA
Renée Isherwood (719) 635-5396
July 24-26, 2020
27th Annual Summerfest Open
Glass Court Swim & Fitness
Lombard, IL
Doug Halverson (630) 629-3390
August 7-9, 2020
5th Annual 3WallBrawl – WOR Event
Rainbow Beach
Chicago, IL Joey Logan | joeyjfl7@aol.com

If you have not done so already, please be sure to click on the link to ISRA Courtside to enjoy over 40 pages of Tournament results and features about racquetball here in Illinois and across the country. And, of course all of your Illinois players feature prominently, with lots and lots of pictures included!!

ISRA Annual Awards/Hall of Fame Nominations
This is the time of year for ISRA members to nominate players for the 2019 Male and Female Players of the Year, 2019 Most Improved Player, and the 2020 Distinguished Service Award. If you would like to receive a nomination form via email, please contact Cheryl Kirk at cherylkkirk@aol.com or simply go to the Awards tab on this ISRA website (www.illinoisracquetball.com) and download the form(s) for Player of the Year or Distinguished Service Award. Remember, with all nominations, the more information you provide, the easier it is for your nominee to be considered. The deadline for nominations is Sunday, January 26, at the end of ISRA State Doubles.

Regarding the ISRA Hall of Fame, criteria and procedures for nominations can be found under Hall of Fame on the ISRA website. The deadline for Hall of Fame nominations is January 15, 2020.

Happy Holiday Season – and we’ll see you on the courts!

– Your ISRA Board

Comments are closed.