Congratulations to Team Illinois Medalists at National Singles!

GOLD: Chris Evon Women’s 50+, Greg Hasty Men’s 65+, Juan Herrera Men’s Pro/Open Doubles with Juan Torres; SILVER: Keith Minor Men’s 40+; BRONZE: Cheryl Gudinas US Team Qualifying, Ray Meisner Men’s 60+B; Semifinalist: Pat Taylor Men’s 70+.

In a recent Facebook post, Gudinas commented, “There is some satisfaction finishing my 23rd pro season. Although I had to battle a recurring knee injury throughout the season and, at times, questioned why I was still playing at all, I was able to attain a few of goals for the season. This included requalifying for the US National Team for the 21st consecutive year through singles, maintaining my health insurance through USA Racquetball for another year, and remaining healthy enough to train for and compete in the upcoming World Games in July. I fell short trying to win my 9th National title, which was an extreme disappointment but vow to win it next May, at age 47.” Congratulations, Cheryl, from Team Illinois!

Peoria’s 9th Annual Racquet for the Cure is next weekend, June 7th and 8th, at Landmark. The entry deadline is Monday, June 3rd at 5:00PM. The tournament will conclude Saturday with an awards banquet and a silent auction to benefit Susan G. Komen for the Cure. Players may enter two divisions. Skill divisions Open, A, B, and C are offered for both singles and doubles. Need a partner? Let us know and we’ll find you one! Come out and have some fun while showing support for this fund-raising event, and remember… Real men wear PINK!

The following individuals/teams won at least one full-draw division during the 2012-2013 season and recently received “The Letter” (suitable for framing) notifying them of their new eligibility:

  • Men’s Open: David Kerr, Jr., Tom Ness, Shane Longest, Keith Mecklenburg
  • Men’s A: Sriram Ravindran, Andrew Stoltmann, Nazeer Chaudhry, Ric Marroquin
  • Men’s B: Chris Kabana, Rogelio Ruiz, Hung Che, Joe Eminger
  • Men’s C: Nikhil Iyer, Nils Mogensen, Brian Hampton, Ravi Kishore Yenduri
  • Men’s Open Doubles: Samuel Gomez/Tyler Harrison
  • Mixed Open Doubles: Georgia Russell/Samuel Gomez, Joann Kempthorne/Jim Freaner, Laurel Harper/Jesus Rojas, Kristin Coulter/Shane Jackson, Dolores Lamberson/Chris Liljestrand

Congratulations, and good luck to all in the coming year!

Remember, the ISRA Board of Directors Annual Meeting will take place Tuesday, June 11, at 7:00 pm in Oak Brook. If you would like to attend, please email Cheryl Kirk at to RSVP and get directions!

Coming soon – the new and improved ISRA website is nearly ready for prime time! Look for a blast message when it’s ready for your viewing pleasure. We’re so excited to bring more information and new features in service to the racquetball players of Illinois!

Comments are closed.